Chardham of Uttarakhand -Introduction

Spread the love

Chardham of Uttarakhand -Introduction

There are two temple clusters by the name ‘Chardham’ in India. One is traditional, popularised by  Sankaracharya – the well-known reformer of Hinduism- and the other developed by local practice.

The Chardham of Sankaracharya is Dwaraka in Gujarath, Badrinath in Uttarakhand, Puri in Orissa and Rameshwaram in Tamilnadu.

The other one that is in the Gharwal region of Uttarakhand is Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri and Yamunotri. These Chardham temples represent all sects of Hinduism. Badri to Vaishnavite, Kedarnath to Saivite and Gangotri and Yamunotri for Shakthi worship respectively.


Read Previous

Jyotirlinga Temples-Introduction

Read Next

Dandayudhapani (Lord Muruga) at Palani