ISKCON Temples

Spread the love

The ISKCON (International Society for Krishna Consciousness) temples are spread across India.

Sri. Bhaktivedanta Prabhupada- the founder Acharya of ISKCON movement spent his whole life to spread the message Lord Krishna to the modern world. It all began when he reached Newyork city, aboard a cargo ship,in 1965.

From then onwards he spear headed a movement , now famous as ISKCON, where he popularised Bhagavat Gita and other Lord Krishna literature in the western world. From a small begining in Newyork, the movement now spread in more than 100 centres across six continents.

The focuss point of ISKCON centres are ISKCON temples dedicated to Lord Krishna in his various forms. ISKCON temples are known for their architestural beauty(mostly built either in marble or sandstone)

In India there are about 19 ISKCON temples, spread all around the country. The ISKCON temples at Bangalore, Mayapur and Vrindavan deserve special mention here.


Read Previous

Birla Temples

Read Next

Lord Ayyappa Temple, Sabarimala