Jyotirlinga Temples-Introduction

Spread the love

Jyotirlinga Temples-Introduction

The twelve Jyotirlinga temples of Lord Shiva are considered as the most sacred shrines of Lord Shiva worship in the country.

The Jyotirlinga temples are spread across India; five in Western India, one in Eastern India and two each in South, Central and Northern India.

No one really knows when, how and why these temples are selected as Jyotirlinga temples. There are many other Lord Shiva temples across India equal in importance; a note worthy example is Chidambaram Nataraja temple in Tamilnadu, South India.

There seems no common thread which connect these temples; one can only say the practice as ‘’age- old’’

Please also note that the list of Jyotir Linga temples given below is based on consensus or majority view. In many cases, even the location of a particular Jyotir Linga temple is disputed.

Thus we have Baidyanath Jyotir Linga in Bihar, Maharashtra and Himachal Pradesh. In such cases, the author relied on the majority view supported by the age-old practice. So, the Baidynath Dham in Bihar is considered as the Jyotir Linga. Needless to say, the author is open to correction when proved otherwise !


The list of Jyotirlinga Temples

1. Somnath Temple – Veravel, Gujarat

2. Viswanath Temple – Kasi (Varanasi or Banaras) Uttar Pradesh

3. Mallikarjuna Temple – Srisailam, Andhra Pradesh

4. Ramalingeswar Temple – Rameshwaram, Tamilnadu

5. Keadarnath , Uttarakahand

6. Trimbakeshwar Temple – Nasik, Maharashtra

7. Mahakal Temple – Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh

8. Bhimashankar Temple – Pune, Maharashtra

9. Omkareshwar Temple, Madhya Pradesh

10. Baidyanath Dham – Deoghar, Jharkhand

11. Nageshwar Mahadev Temple – Dwaraka, Gujarath

12. Grishneswar Temple, Ellora, Maharashtra


Read Previous

Muruga Worship- Introduction

Read Next

Chardham of Uttarakhand -Introduction